A 2-story residence stands at 4272 Quakerbridge Road. This - the Gordon house - is a longtime contributing element to the historic Lawrence/West Windsor community of Port Mercer.
The house's date of construction is unknown but a structure does seem to appear on or near this site by 1849. At the time, the property was owned by Lewis and Caroline Gordon. Three years later, they deeded it to their son, John E. Gordon - also erstwhile owner of the Gordon-Northrop house across the street at 4261-63 Quakerbridge Road.
John and his wife, Sarah, had at least three children: Carrie, George, and Stuart. Carrie married Charles H. Mather, who lived in the adjacent house at 4271 Quakerbridge Road. After John died, Stuart bought the large farm at 4272 Quakerbridge Road and conducted a dairy with about seventy-five cows. Ownership thereafter becomes unclear; research is ongoing. However, the home still stands as a relic of old Port Mercer.
- Otley, J W, and James Keily. “Map of Mercer County, New Jersey.” Map. Camden, New Jersey: L. Van der Veer, 1849.
- Gordon, John, Gordon, Lewis. “Indenture.” West Windsor, 1881. Located in the Mercer County Clerk's Office, Mercer County Deed Book 147 Page 365.
- Arrowsmith, Carrie. “Carrie Arrowsmith Pens Port Mercer Reflections.” Princeton Recollector 6, no. 8, May 1981. https://theprince.princeton.edu/princetonperiodicals/?a=d&d=princetonrecollector19810501.2.2&srpos=5&e=------198-en-20-princetonrecollector-1--txt-txIN-%22cARRIE+ARROWSMITH%22------